Monday, May 28, 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Chennai Super Kings to win Indian Premier League - 5

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated the defending champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to win their maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) title at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai on 27 April 2012.Gautam Gambhir led Knight Riders successfully chased down the target of 192 in 19.4 overs in the summit clash of IPL-V.
Manvinder Singh Bisla, the wicket keeper batsman, with his aggressive knock of 89 runs off just 48 balls secured the victory for the Knight Riders. He was also declared the Man of the Match. South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis also played a good knock as he scored 69 runs off 49 balls. Sunil Naraine, of the Kolkata Knight Riders, won the Man of the Tournament award for his impressive bowling show through out the event. He picked up 24 wickets at an average of 13.50 and an economy rate of 5.47, which was the best in the league. Chris Gayle of Royal Challengers Banglore and Morne Morkel of Chennai Super Kings emerged as the highest run getter and leading wicket taker of the tournament respectively. Gayle scored 733 runs while Morkel topped the list of highest wicket taker with 25 wickets. Chris Gayle also hit the maximum number of sixes (59) in the IPL season 2012.
A total of 9 teams had participated in the fifth season of IPL which had commenced on 4 April 2012. Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians were the four teams which had made to the final four following a marathon league round. A total of 76 matches were played in the entire tournament.
Kolkata Knight Riders, co-owned by Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan could not make to the final in all the previous seasons.