Friday, March 6, 2015

Kristen Stewart won the Best Supporting Actress Award at France's Cesar Awards

Kristen Stewart on 20 February 2015 won the Best Supporting Actress Award at France's Cesar Awards. She received the award for her performance in Clouds of Sils Maria.
With this, she became the first American actress ever to win a trophy at France's Cesar Awards.
Previously, Julia Migenes was nominated for her performance in the film Carmen, however, she could not win the award.
The last American actor to win an award at France’s Cesar Award was Adrien Brody who won for the film The Pianist.
Meanwhile, the film Timbuktu won the highest awards in Cesar Awards. It grabbed seven awards.
About Cesar Awards
The Cesar Award is the national film award of France. It is delivered in the Nuit des César ceremony and it was first awarded in 1976.
The nominations are selected by the members of twelve categories of filmmaking professionals and supported by the French Ministry of Culture. It is an initiative from the academy for the science and technology of cinema in Paris.
The Cesar Award is considered as the highest film honour in France, the French film industry's equivalent to the Molière Award for theatre, and the Victoires de la Musique for music. In cinema, it is the French equivalent of the Academy Award in the United States.

Oscar Awards 2015

87th Academy Award, popularly called Oscar Awards, was conferred on 22 February 2015. The award ceremony was held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles.
The Oscar Awards for the year 2015 were presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) in 24 categories.
The awards were produced by Neil Meron and Craig Zadan and directed by Hamish Hamilton. Actor Neil Patrick Harris hosted the ceremony for the first time.
The list of winners of 87th Academy Awards
  • Best Picture: Birdman
  • Best Director: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for Birdman
  • Best Actor: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything
  • Best Actress: Julianne Moore for Still Alice
  • Best Supporting Actor: JK Simmons for Whiplash
  • Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood
  • Achievement in Costume Design: Milena Canonero for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling: Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Best Foreign Language Film: Ida directed by Pawel Pawlikowski
  • Best Live Action Short Film: The Phone Call
  • Best Documentary Short Subject: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1
  • Original Screenplay: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo for Birdman
  • Achievement in Sound Mixing: Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, Thomas Curley for Whiplash
  • Achievement in Sound Editing: Alan Robert Murray Bub Asman for American Sniper
  • Achievement in Visual Effects: Ian Hunter, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley and Paul Franklin for Interstellar
  • Best Animated Short Film: Feast directed by Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed
  • Best Animated Movie: Big Hero Six 6
  • Achievement in Production Design: Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Achievement in Cinematograph: Emannuel Lubezki for Birdman
  • Achievement in Film Editing: Tom Cross for Whipalsh
  • Best Documentary Feature: Citizen Four directed by Laura Poitras
  • Best Original Song: John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn for Glory
  • Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Graham Moore for The Imitation Game

Purnendu Dasgupta won the J. Calvin Giddings Award 2015 of American Chemical Society

An Indian-American Purnendu Dasgupta on 20 February 2015 was awarded with the 2015 J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education. The award is given by the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Analytical Chemistry.
Dasgupta, a Jenkins Garrett professor of chemistry at the University of Texas at Arlington, was awarded for his contribution in the field of analytical chemistry.
He had developed an environment friendly field analyser for checking toxic arsenic levels in water.
Dasgupta will receive a plaque and cash prize as an award at the ACS national conference in August 2015 in Boston. He will address the conference and participate in an awards symposium on education in analytical chemistry. 

About Purnendu Dasgupta
Dasgupta is an author of more than 400 scientific papers and book chapters and holds 25 US patents. His work has earned more than 18 million US dollars in research grants. His research area includes 
• Methods for environment-friendly analysis of arsenic in drinking water
• Rapid analysis of trace heavy metals in the atmosphere
• Iodine nutrition in women and infants and the role of the chemical perchlorate
• The development of a NASA-funded ion chromatograph for testing extraterrestrial soil, such as on a trip to Mars

About American Chemical Society's J. Calvin Giddings Award
The award is named after J. Calvin Giddings, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Utah, US. Giddings is credited with the invention of field flow fractionation.

The award recognises, a scientist, who has enhanced the professional development of analytical chemistry students, developed and published innovative experiments, designed and improved equipment or teaching labs and published influential textbooks or significant articles on teaching analytical chemistry.